Research in Computer Science involves artificial intelligence, including models of memory and reasoning, knowledge representation, natural language understanding, planning, and problem solving; human computer interaction; distributed interactive systems; theoretical computer science, focusing on algorithm design and analysis; "frictionless" proactive context and task-sensitive information retrieval systems; distributed and real-time systems, networks, performance analysis, prediction and scheduling, Internet and grid application development; and computer graphics and human computer interfaces for spatial applications, visualization and computer entertainment.

CS Division Faculty

[see details]

  • Brenna Argall (joint with RIC)
  • Larry Birnbaum
  • Fabian Bustamante
  • Yan Chen (secondary in CE)
  • Ollie Cossairt
  • Anindya De
  • Peter Dinda (secondary in CE)
  • Doug Downey
  • Jennie Duggan (secondary in CE)
  • Robby Findler
  • Ken Forbus
  • Kris Hammond
  • Jason Hartline
  • Mike Horn (50% in SESP)
  • Ian Horswill
  • Ming Kao
  • Aleksandar Kuzmanovic
  • Bryan Pardo (secondary in EE)
  • Chris Riesbeck
  • Sara Sood
  • Goce Trajcevski (secondary in CE)
  • Jack Tumblin (secondary in EE)
  • Aravindan Vijayaraghavan
  • Uri Wilensky (80% in SESP)
  • Haoqi Zhang (joint with Segal)

Faculty with Secondary Affiliation in the CS Division 

[see details]

  • Randy Berry
  • Alok Choudhary
  • Nikos Hardavellas
  • Larry Henschen
  • Aggelos Katsaggelos
  • Gokhan Memik
  • Hai Zhou